Book: Andy Warhol – Polaroids

Here is another book to add to our Coffee Table Books Collection. Polaroids by Andy Warhol. His vastly intriguing collection of polaroid pictures from 1958 to 1987, which features such legendary characters like Mick Jagger, Debbie Harry, Jack Nicholson, Yves Saint Laurent, Basquiat, Liza Minelli, Diane von Furstenberg and on and on. He captures not only celebrities and socialites of the time, but also still life mise-en-scenes as well as self-portraits of his many alter-egos.

andy-warhol-polaroids-book-taschen-0

I’ve always wanted to have a Polaroid camera. There is a certain intimacy in the immediacy of it. Hold, click, snap – and you hold the moment captured in your hands within the next. Not having the chance to obsess over endless filter palettes make the experience a vulnerable one, and therefore boldly honest and beautiful. The inability to push a delete button forces both the subject and the photographer to be more alert, aware and in the moment.

“A picture means I know where I was every minute. That’s why I take pictures. It’s a visual diary.” – andy warhol

The main reason we take pictures is to remember. I believe the success of Instagram is derived by that very human need to chronicle life. Our lives. Although appreciating the undeniable practicality of it, just like writing letters, I sometimes feel the need to hold a photograph in my hands. Do we even print pictures anymore, except for the rare ones we decide worthy of framing?

I still have a box of old photographs that I browse through once in a nostalgic blue moon. Finger sliding on a cold device does not create the same kind of sentimental echo as holding a memory in your hands.

So I’m thinking of getting one for my self. If you are inspired as well, there are many newly designed Polaroid cameras out there, ranging in capacity and price. Fuji Instax mini 90 or Impossible SX-70 or Polaroid Snap. If not sure, one can always get a Polaroid Zip Mobile Printer.

I’m looking forward to experimenting with it. Thank you Andy Warhol for reminding me of this wonderful invention that calms my soul that occasionally yearns for less digital times…

tumblr_lmyb8fhg2y1qzcit9o1_500

Leave a Reply

