Lyrics: Why I love “The Voice”

My sister loves The Voice. This year, along with my niece, she shared with me some of her favorite episodes. Besides the brilliant performances that catch you off guard, I immediately got hooked with the coaches’ hilarious banter, inspirational background stories of the contestants and the support they find on the show, which reminds all of us that sometimes, all it takes for you to conquer your dreams is one positive feedback from someone you look up to.

For me, there is even more…. and it’s the songs. The songs they sing during the auditions or get assigned by the coaches for the battles… Songs I had forgotten about or never heard of. Songs I had listened to so many times before, but had never quite gotten the true feel of. Songs whose lyrics I hadn’t paid attention to.

Like Aerosmiths’ 1973 song Dream On

Yeah, I know nobody knows
Where it comes and where it goes
I know it’s everybody’s sin
You got to lose to know how to win

Half my life’s in books’ written pages
Live and learn from fools and from sages
You know it’s true
All the things come back to you

Or Michael Jackson’s Man in the Mirror

I’m Starting With The Man In
The Mirror
I’m Asking Him To Change
His Ways
And No Message Could Have
Been Any Clearer
If You Wanna Make The World
A Better Place
Take A Look At Yourself, And
Then Make A Change

Or – and I never thought I’d say this – but even Miley Cyrus’ The Climb

There’s always gonna be another mountain
I’m always gonna wanna make it move
Always gonna be an uphill battle
Sometimes I’m gonna have to lose
Ain’t about how fast I get there
Ain’t about what’s waitin’ on the other side
It’s the climb

The show made me want to be a teenager again. It created a hunger to explore all the songs I thought I’d known and discover them again by letting the lyrics speak to my heart, rather than their familiar melodies.

To be honest, I regretted the nonchalant way I listened to music when I was younger. I loved Talking Heads and the Doors, Tori Amos and Billy Holiday, Bon Jovi and REM. But did I dive in deep with the singer? Did I truly understand the intention of the song? Or did I just like the way it sounded and remained a listener on shallow shores?

The show gave me a youthful enthusiasm to go back to my old records, sit on the floor and listen closely, with my ears and heart wide open. As they resonate deeper than ever, I think I’ll hear my spirit sing to me as well.

Leave a Reply

